Corinthian Sailing Club Champions
Maurice Martin Trophy

The Maurice Martin Trophy is presented to the winner of the club championship regatta each year at the Awards Banquet. 

The Corinthian Sailing Club pays tribute each year to one of the local wooden boat builders - Maurice Martin. In 1960, Commodore Bednar donated a trophy for the CSC champion commemorating Martin who had died the prior year. (See deed of gift below.) He was a charter member of CSC and had built many of the Snipes and Lightnings on the lake. The 1951 photo shows Martin and his son in their Lightning.Maurice Martin and son - 1951 The club championship was originally conducted as the Maurice Martin Memorial Handicap Series. In 1966, the format was changed to a regatta at the end of the racing season to help stimulate greater club interest. It was a weekend of all-out club racing to determine the CSC champion. Three races were scheduled on Saturday and two on Sunday. Fleet champions (one from each fleet) competed against one another in various fleet boats, changing boats for each new race. Non-fleet contenders were determined by handicap races run along with the normal fleet races. The championship then changed to a single boat format. The boat type was rotated year to year. In the mid-1990s, we started using a Portsmouth handicap allowing each club member to sail their own boats.

Our thanks to Richard Wade for reconstructing this information.  If anyone has any corrections or additional information to add, please send to webmaster.




Griffin Orr
Snipes/Flying Scot
Griffin Orr
Corinthian/Flying Scot
Mike Rist
Flying Scot/Flying Scot
Kelly Gough
Gene Saltero
Vanguard 15/Vanguard 15
Gavin Rudolph
Alvin Skelton
Handicap/Flying Scot
Kelly Gough
Handicap/Flying Scot
Richard Wade
Handicap/Flying Scot
Richard Wade
Handicap/Flying Scot
Jeff Perna
Handicap/Flying Scot
Scott Mauney
Handicap/Flying Scot
Kelly Gough
Fleet Qual/Laser
Mark Babb
Handicap/Butterfly/Flying Scot
Richard Wade
Handicap/Corinthian/Flying Scot
Richard Wade
2003 Handicap/Laser/Snipe Gene Soltero
2002 Handicap Scott Mauney
Marke Smith
2000 Handicap Richard Wade
1999 Handicap Richard Wade
1998 Handicap Scott Mauney
1997 Handicap Chris Dukeminier
1996 Handicap Kelly Gough
1995 Richard Wade
1994 Chris Dukeminier
1993 Jeff Perna
1992 Flying Scot Richard Wade
1991 Corinthian Kelly Gough
1990 Flying Scot Bob Gough
1989 Corinthian Gordon Prejean
1988 M20 Richard Wade
1987 Flying Scot Richard Wade
1986 Rebel Richard Wade
1985 Richard Wade
1984 Flying Scot Richard Wade
1983 M20 Chris Dukeminier
1982 Rebel Richard Wade
1981 M20 Richard Wade
1980 Corinthian Gordon Prejean
1979 Jesse Uyeda
1978 Brad Davis
1977 Nat Wells
1976 Bryan Willson
1975 Kelly Gough
1974 Kelly Gough
1973 Kelly Gough
1972 Nat Wells
1971 Nat Wells
1970 Fred Tears
1969 David Fagin
1968 Manning Grinnan
1967 David Fagin
1966 Jim DeBoisblanc
1965 Craig Coltharp
1964 David Fagin
1963 Jim DeBoisblanc
1962 John Seldon
1961 Austin Moore
1960 Milton Price
1959 John J. Arps

The Martin Trophy

The Martin Trophy is presented to the Corinthian Sailing Club of Dallas in honor of J. Maurice Martin, the boat builder and charter member of the club.

This trophy is to be presented annually to the champion of the club. Each recipient is to retain the trophy for one year and is expected to have his name and the year of the presentation engrave on the name plate. Each recipient shall have the honor of presenting the trophy to his successor.

The first recipient who is to hold the trophy through 1960 and have his name engrave on the name plat is Jan Arps. The donor of the trophy request that he serve as chairman of a committee to recommend a method by which the club championship shall be determined in the future years. Other members who are requested to serve on this committee are Captain Harold Boss, Captain Largent Parks, Captain Dale Selzer, and Captain Kieth Young. The committee shall be free to enlarge its membership to include other boat representation as it deems necessary.

This trophy is presented to the club with the hope that a suitable small trophy will be presented by the club each year to remain in the permanent possession of each recipient.

The only other restriction the donor wishes to impose is that in the event that a club champion cannot be determined by racing, a champion be named by a suitable committee appointed for that purpose.

W. C. Bandar, Commodore

March 15, 1960