Kathy & Bob Harrington Award
Spirit of Volunteerism"

Kathy and Bob Harrington Award
Bob Harrington has been a member of Corinthian Sailing Club since 1987 and his wife Kathy since 2004.  Bob was Rear Commodore of Equipment for three-years from 1994 through 1996, Commodore in 1997, and Rear Commodore of Equipment ever since, now through 2013. 

Both Kathy and Bob are and always have been the first to pitch in with whatever needs to be done by helping to prepare the clubhouse for the many social events and regattas that are held each year doing everything from setting up to emptying the trash and all things in between.  In addition, they keep the club well stocked with everything from light bulbs to paper plates to gas grills.  Both are the first to arrive after one of our famous floods to begin the scrubbing and power washing of everything and often they are the last to leave.

Bob has kept the committee and rescue boats running, along with all things having to do with on the water activities, in tip-top shape. He is the reason all our boats and related equipment are so dependable and ready-to-use.

Kathy is as tireless and dedicated as her husband.  Over the years, for most social events and regattas, Kathy has been found decorating the clubhouse in addition to helping preparing and serving the food, and then, putting it all away when finished. 

Kathy and Bob embody the spirit of volunteerism unselfishly and tirelessly enriching the quality of life for all of their fellow members. 

The Corinthian Sailing Club is an all-volunteer club - meaning almost everything that needs to be done is tasked to the member volunteers.  Volunteers are the heart of our club whether it involves painting the clubhouse or setting up a race course for Sunday races. The Kathy and Bob Harrington Award was created in 2013 to honor their dedication to Corinthian Sailing Club and to recognize a member who personifies the Spirit of Volunteerism. Each year, the club’s board shall solicit nominations and select the awardee. The award will presented each fall at the Annual Banquet.



2019 Lauri Block
2018 Frank Richards
2017 Allan Schmitt
2016 Bob Gough
2015 Bob Gough
2014 Bob Gough
2013 Alanna Strong